News from our Gapper

Bridgid Duffy, our Step into the Gap volunteer, tells us a little about what she’s been doing for CAFOD and her imminent trip to Ethiopia.

bridgid

Bridgid- from Allendsford to Ethiopia

I have been at the diocesan Youth Ministry Team (YMT) for just over 4 months now, and what an amazing experience it has been! I have had time to focus on personal development, as well as growing in my own faith. However, most importantly, I have already encountered around 2000 young people on retreats at the Youth village, where myself, and the rest of YMT, help them understand how much God loves them.

Additionally, I have done a wide range of activities during retreats to raise awareness about CAFOD, and current global issues. For instance, a very powerful activity that I have done quite often with the young people is a refugee simulation activity.  In this activity, the young people get a sense of the struggles that refugees have to go through, which is then followed by the opportunity to write and send a message of hope to a refugee. The young people find this extremely thought provoking and insightful.

bridgid-january-2017-blog-picture-1

A message of hope written by one of our young people

As you can imagine, my year so far has been incredible, however my trip to Ethiopia is imminent! I can’t even begin to put into words how excited I am. I will be flying to the capital of Ethiopia, Addis Ababa, on the 24th of January with my fellow Gappers.

While in Ethiopia we will be visiting various HIV/AIDS projects, climate change adaptation projects and possibly getting involved with music and art classes for street children.

I have no doubt that this will be a life changing experience, that will help me see the world from a completely different perspective. I have such a passion for social justice, so I cant wait to see in action the work that CAFOD is doing to combat the issues surrounding it. I have such a deep longing to learn more and encounter people from a completely different culture to my own. However, I also hope that I can share my own experiences with the people who I meet in Ethiopia, and consequently form a relationship where we can learn from one another.

stig-volunteers-ethiopia-2017

Bridgid and fellow Gappers all set for Ethiopia

Finally, despite being an extremely outgoing person, I can’t deny that I am nervous about my up coming trip. However, this emotion is undoubtedly overpowered with an overwhelming sense of excitement. I am ready to step out of my comfort zone, and literally ‘Step into the Gap’ to make a positive change in this world.

You’ll be able to hear more about CAFOD’s work in Ethiopia from Brdigid right here in the coming weeks. In the meantime, if you’d like to get involved in CAFOD’s refugee action, please follow this link for more information.

Leave a Reply

