Introducing Bridgid our new Step into the Gap Volunteer

Bridgid Duffy 2

We’re delighted to welcome Bridgid, our new Step into the Gap volunteer! She told us what had inspired her to get involved in CAFOD’s gap year programme.

Hi! My name is Bridgid. I’m 23 years old and I’m from Newcastle upon Tyne. I have recently graduated from the University of Dundee with a degree in Psychology. I’m now about to begin my journey on CAFOD’s Step into the Gap programme, where I’ll be placed at YMT in the Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle, which I am extremely excited about!

I am really looking forward to working with young people from a range of different backgrounds during my placement. I hope I will be able to channel my enthusiasm for life and passion for social justice, to make those I meet aware of issues close to CAFOD’s heart. Some resources in particular, which I hope to use to raise awareness, are the Catholic social teaching cards, as I will be working with a lot of young people from secondary school. Additionally, I am very keen to utilize the different power point reflections, for instance I hope to use the climate campaign reflection in Morning Prayer session of retreats.

Check out our back to school resources for children and young people

I am also especially excited for the trip overseas, which I know will be a phenomenal experience where I hope I will gain a greater insight into the inspirational work of CAFOD’s partners.

 

Leave a Reply

