Step into the Gap – Danielle prepares for Zimbabwe

Danielle is volunteering with CAFOD in the Diocese of Hexham & Newcastle as part of our Step into the Gap programme. Here, she writes about preparing to see CAFOD’s work in Zimbabwe:

Danielle (right) is going to see CAFOD's work in Zimbabwe

Danielle (right) is going to see CAFOD’s work in Zimbabwe

I can’t believe it’s now been almost five months since I began my journey at YMT with Step into the Gap! It has given me the opportunity to grow so much both in confidence and my faith by challenging me to step outside my comfort zone. As I talked about in my last blog, I have allowed my faith to be bigger than my fear – if somebody told me when I began that I’d be doing what I’m doing now, like talking in front of people and leading activities, I would never have believed them!

Volunteer with CAFOD on your gap year

As Neale Donald Walsch said, ‘life begins at the end of your comfort zone’. I have learnt that although we may face challenges along the way, it is only when we step out of our comfort zone that we grow. If I were to sum up my gap year so far I’d say for me it is all about stepping out.

And that is exactly what I will be doing in the next step of my year, when I travel overseas to Zimbabwe to visit some of the CAFOD partners there, something I thought I would never have the chance to do. I’m really looking forward to meeting some amazing people and I can’t wait for a once in a lifetime experience!

During our overseas training, we were reminded of why we embarked on our journey with CAFOD in a quote from Oscar Romero: ‘each one of you has to be God’s microphone’. I have to let my passion for social justice show through and not let fear get in the way.

So step out! Challenge yourself to grow, leave fear behind and be the person God created you to be.

Apply to Step into the Gap

Leave a Reply

